Numerical Knitting

August 10, 2007

Stash Enhancement

Filed under: Knitting — by bethc @ 4:46 pm

Remember that rush in college when you would go to your mailbox and find that little slip that said you had a package? For me the best ever was one that arrived one winter from a friend of my parents who just happened to be a Tastykake delivery person…

Today was almost as good… I was inside talking on the phone to my boss about details of the upcoming (far too quickly) school year and heard the mail arrive. I didn’t get excited because there was no knock on the door, and besides Blue Moon just mailed the package the other day from way across the country. I was leaving to get Bunny from the last day of camp and actually stepped on the box! Good thing it wasn’t Tastykakes.

Quickly home from camp I got to the job of opening. First, everything was in a bag that said “I’ve been Blue Mooned” how cute is that. And then, there it was, stash joy! You see I needed some Mediumweight STR so I could totally copy Julie’s BSJ. That was there in Jade. Since I was ordering anyway, and had the coupon from the sock club I got a few extras. Heavyweight in Space Dust, I think this will be another baby sweater of some sort and lightweight in Stormy Weather, that might be socks for mom. I also got New Pathways for Sock Knitting and it looks great.

I’m not totally sold on the Jade to go with the Scottish Highlands on the BSJ (which was completed at SLK last night) but Julie is bringing Biscuit over for a play date and dinner and I’m sure she will convince me it’s great. As well as showing me how to do the i-cord edging. Besides Tina recommended it and we know she is color genius!

In other stash news I never posted about the great yarn I got in Halifax when we were there in early July. I was wandering around and found a store that sold hand knitted items. I asked the young woman in the shop if there was a knitting store within walking distance. She sent me over to the Loop were the woman working kindly looked up the rest of the directions for the Broadripples for me. They had a lot of lovely things, but I settled on something local. It’s 50% mohair 50% wool hand painted and called Give it a Whorl Fibers. It’s so soft and pretty and I’m sure it will make something….

Now, maybe I should go find some Tastykakes…

2 Comments »

  1. Beautiful yarn! Your comment about college and the package slip made me smile – those were always great days!

    Comment by Kara — August 11, 2007 @ 4:03 pm |Reply

  2. Such beautiful loot! I went to a talk by Cat Bordhi last Friday, and I learned that she made youTube videos to supplement the book info. So cool

    Comment by Christy / Not Hip — August 20, 2007 @ 1:40 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

