Numerical Knitting

August 9, 2007

Shedir

Filed under: Knitting — by bethc @ 12:40 pm

This is a delayed report on finishing my Shedir. I finished it on July 22 in a hotel room in Miami, but haven’t been able to get any good photos. Today I decided to give up and post the bad photos!

I started Shedir for Bonnie, but unfortunately by the time all of the exploratory procedures were done the decision was made that comfort rather than treatment was the best course of action. In fact, Bonnie died on the 24th, just two days after I finished knitting. I will put this away to save for someone else… hopefully a long time from now!

Despite the sad circumstances, I really enjoyed knitting this. The yarn, Andean Treasure was a delight. So soft and fluffy. This was my first real cable project and after reading all about cabling without a cable needle, I bought a cable needle! I don’t think I’m ready for going without yet. This was also my first project purely from a chart. I thought I “wasn’t a chart person” but I was wrong. I loved how much I learned about reading my knitting.

Today I started on my Super Secret Summer Project (SSSP). Yes I know it’s mid-August and the summer is all but gone, but I will get something off my to do list even if I don’t sleep!

In other news, I have finished my first Inside Out Sock in blue and am almost done with the Baby Surprise. I’m off to Vegas on Sunday… long flight = much knitting! Any good yarn sources in Vegas?

1 Comment »

  1. That’s a beautiful hat. I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of its intended recipient.

    Comment by Emilee — August 9, 2007 @ 6:23 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

