Numerical Knitting

October 5, 2006

SP9 Questionnaire — answers!

Filed under: SP9 — by bethc @ 12:24 pm

I have joined SP9 so have to post these answers. Since I have never managed to do 100 things, maybe you will learn something about me even if you’re not my SP!

1. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely *not* like? I’m pretty easy to please. I like most everything except really plastic feeling acrylic. Of course I think silk is nice, and cashmere is too. But wool and cotton are good as well.

2. What do you use to store your needles/hooks in? A plastic bag from the grocery store… Well, I do have a case for my KnitPicks Options set, but the rest are all in a bag.

3. How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced? I have known how to knit since my grandma taught me as a kid. I have had a number of periods of intense knitting. The most recent period started about a year ago. I guess I am an intermediate, but I am always willing to try anything.

4. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list? I do right here.

5. What’s your favorite scent? (for candles, bath products, etc.) I guess vanilla. I’m not a fan of highly scented things, but do like things that make my house smell good, but not smell like I am trying.

6. Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy? Totally! I like most any candy. My favorites are Starburst and Reeses, but really, if it has sugar I like it!

7. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin? I do scrapbooks and have been known to needlepoint and cross stitch. Mostly I just try to make sure my child arrives as school with a lunch every day!

8. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD) I tend to listen to singer songwriter types or whatever B chooses. I also like folk as well as classic rock.

9. What’s your favorite color(s)? Any colors you just can’t stand? I guess green is my favorite, but blue, red, and yellow are also in the running. Oh and I like orange and purple. I guess I like any color!

10. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets? I live with my husband B and my 4-year-old son. We have two cats, one social and one not.

11. Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos? Scarves, yes. Hats that don’t squish my head. Mittens, yep. I haven’t worn a poncho since I was a kid when they were “in” before. I worry that they will make me look dumpy (ok, make me look more dumpy) but the right one might be cool.

12. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit? Hmmm… that’s a hard one. Since I’m knitting with fine yarn now I long for bulky. I have liked doing the button hole bags I have done. I also enjoyed my first ever pair of socks. I guess I have liked everything I have done. Although the sweater for Bunny with sock yarn has gotten old!

13. What are you knitting right now? A sweater for Bunny and a moss grid hand towel. On deck are a bunch of baby gifts, a Christmas stocking, and a hat.

14. Do you like to receive handmade gifts? Sure.

15. Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic? I don’t have a strong preference, but since I have bought the KnitPicks Options I am using more metal circs. I don’t have any particularly good straight needles so that might make a difference…

16. Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift? Sadly no, but I do have a friend nearby who does!

17. How old is your oldest UFO? It was started in 1996… a baby blanket, don’t ask how old the baby is now!

18. What is your favorite holiday? I think Christmas, not for the religious significance, but for the traditions, oh and the gifts!!

19. Is there anything that you collect? I collect Doc from Snow White.

20. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have? The books I really want are high priority on my Amazon list. I can’t think of anything in particular I am wanting… although I am really liking Socks that Rock stuff lately.

21. Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn? I am trying to learn continental… knitting is going ok, purling not so much.

22. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements? Trying to be! Foot circumference (ball): 8″, length of foot 9.25″

23. When is your birthday? (mm/dd) June 25

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

