Numerical Knitting

September 18, 2006

Groundhog Day

Filed under: General,Knitting,Teaching — by bethc @ 4:36 pm

A few years ago after viewing part of the film Groundhog Day for religion class (don’t ask), one of my students said to me “It’s kind of like Groundhog Year for you.” She went on to explain, that each year, over and over, I was in 6th grade. I laughed when she told me, but the comment stuck with me. I thought a lot about it and decided that it wasn’t really true.

Each year the kids change, I change how and what I teach, and I am always tweaking the routines in hopes of getting the maximum teaching with the minimum aggravation.

Last week was different, I had the strongest teaching deja vu (Groundhog Day moment) yet. It came when I was tinking yet another piece of mangled knitting. Yep, knitting class has begun again. For those who don’t know, Julia and I teach an after school knitting class for 6th graders and this year are also doing a project knitting class with 7th graders.

They learn so quickly that in the six months since our last beginners I had forgotten just how a beginner knits! As a result it’s tink and repair time for me. Tomorrow we meet again to see who has it, and who is still knitting Swiss cheese!

1 Comment »

  1. Children take to knitting and other needle arts so amazingly well. My aunt taught me when I was eight years old; I taught both of my children when they were quite young. It is wonderful that you are teaching 6th graders, and now 7th graders too, to knit. For some of them, it will become a lifelong companion.

    ~firefly

    Comment by firefly8868 — September 19, 2006 @ 8:47 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

