Numerical Knitting

September 12, 2006

It’s all good

Filed under: General,Knitting,Teaching — by bethc @ 2:34 pm

While I would not say that I am a pessimist, I am frequently taken aback when people use the phrase “It’s all good.” Really, it’s never all good. There’s the whole people are hungry thing, the war thing, and so many other pieces of non-goodness in the world. Even in my life, I tend to think about the bad with the good.

This week I decided to try a new attitude. There’s a nip of fall in the air so here goes, it’s all good!

stripey socks Knitting goodness: I finished my first ever pair of socks! I really like them and while there are things I will do differently next time I feel like they were are really good first attempt. And the 12-year-olds that I spend my days with were marginally impressed (high praise from the tween set). I started on a Moss Grid hand towel and I will save my thoughts on knitting with linen for a post that’s not supposed to be all about good stuff.

Goodness on the Bunny front: Tomorrow Bunny’s nursery school will finally be full day. He has now gone four half days and is loving it. He comes home dirty and exhausted so I figure that’s a good sign. On Saturday he asked why he couldn’t go to nursery school, it’s all good.

Goodness on the school front: OK, I will admit that right before I sat down to write this I declared that I didn’t like children, but that aside I think my class is off to a good start. They are working hard and really thinking, which was one of my goals for this year. Also, I started the week with the lessons for every day already planned. I don’t think that has ever happened in my teaching career. Let me tell you it’s good to know what’s coming next!

Goodness on the body front: I lost 2 pounds during the first week of school! I have been to the gym four times in the last 7 days and fit into a skirt I had forgotten about. Also helping is the fact that we have been eating at home, thanks to Meal Makers.

Are there things that aren’t so good? Of course. World hunger, war, and linen yarn jump to mind. But that, my dear reader, I will save for another day.

3 Comments »

  1. I love this post! So funny and thoughtful. And I happen to know that you couldn’t put too much time into it, given our current circumstances! Just goes to show, some of the best writing happens when we aren’t planning it!

    Comment by JulieFrick — September 13, 2006 @ 4:08 pm |Reply

  2. Congrats on the socks! I just finished my first pair as well. They “only” took me from Easter until last week to finish. For some reason, I got really inspired partway through and decided to buy another ball of sock yarn. Once I finished the first pair, I immediately cast on for the next pair (Christmas presents! I’ll have them finished early!), and dropped one of my cast on stitches on the second round (I do top down). It’s not fixable. I have hidden the sock. I know I need to start over but…ugh! So frustrating! Sorry to rant here…I figured a fellow knitter would understand!

    Comment by MamaSutra — September 18, 2006 @ 1:27 am |Reply

  3. I’m interested in what you have to say about knitting with linen. I happen to have a bunch of worsted weight and I was struck with inspiration this summer. First I knitted curtains for my kitchen – all good. Then I did an easy tee pattern – all good although now the relax factor has set in after three washings. I’m now about 2/3 of the way through a simple tee, using a smaller needle. If it doesn’t relax too much, it’ll go to my niece for Xmas. If it relaxes too much – I get to keep it.

    The short part here is that I’m looking for patterns for knitting with linen….I discovered Euroflax this afternoon but haven’t gotten a good look at a pattern yet.

    Comment by Joan — September 25, 2006 @ 1:06 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

