Numerical Knitting

August 28, 2006

Tribute

Filed under: General,Teaching — by bethc @ 7:28 am

This summer I attended Karen’s funeral. I had worked with her through a professional organization after meeting her through my father. She was someone I admired because of the range of work she did within the field of mathematics education and her deep devotion to her students. The amazing thing about funerals is that you learn so much about a person. I got to know about the care she gave not only to her students, but also to everyone around her. She raised a family, and loved her grandchildren. She was a devoted and active member of her church. She was a talented teacher at many levels and conducted research and published at a level practically unheard of for a middle school teacher. She did it all with grace, wit, and compassion and she faced death as she did life. As I start another school year, I do so with my memories of Karen in my heart and the desire to work to be half the success she was.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

