Numerical Knitting

July 17, 2006

At least my hobby doesn’t have to be waterproof!

Filed under: General,Knitting,Teaching — by bethc @ 8:47 pm

I have been away from blogging partly because I keep having great blog ideas and then I want to get them done before I make a new entry… There’s the “Bob the Builder” one, the “Why I don’t like airports”one, the “why Rogaine for woman is a good idea” one and some others as well but I decided to make the entry for today and if I get to the past ones great, if not, so be it.

Today I am in Portland, ME. And while walking around downtown I came upon the Boat Building Festival sponsored by the Compass Project. It seems that in 2 1/2 days teams of people (who have paid for the privilege) build wooden boats. Not my particular cup of tea, but seems like a neat event. As best as I could tell today, all day, was waterproofing and they were hard at work, hence the title for this post!

Also while walking I came upon this great quote on the fence of a church. “Knowledge is an island surrounded by a sea of mystery.” It is attributed to Chet Raymo and it particularly struck me since I had spent the day thinking about how children learn and what I want from my students. I’m thinking that may be my motto for the fall!

SunsetI did a little shopping and had a great lobster roll with my friend Mary.  She and I have been friends ever since she arrived on this earth about four weeks after I did. It was great to catch up with her, see her office, and some of her new town. Tomorrow I spend the day in the workshop and then head through Freeport (L.L. Bean here I come) and up to her home in Bath. Know what else is in Bath? Yep, Halcyon Yarns and you can bet I will be going there.

On the knitting front, I was at a knitting convention over the week-end and that will be a whole other post. If you want some info check out what Julia has to say. I do, however, have this to show for it. Yep! Those are the tiny toes of my first socks ever. Knitted toe up, two a at a time on one long circ. I am so proud and soon they will cover my toe nails! Not waterproof by far, but cute and stripey even on the rather strange texture of the hotel desk chair!

1 Comment »

  1. Hurrah for covered toes! I expect you to be at your ankles by the time I return from the beach. And you can ask me how the first two sections of my Abe blanket are. Deal?

    Comment by JulieFrick — July 18, 2006 @ 3:52 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

