Numerical Knitting

May 10, 2006

Day 2…

Filed under: Knitting,Teaching — by bethc @ 11:26 am

I just wrote a really long post including, among other things, how excited I was that I was getting the hang of this. Then I lost it. The whole thing. So now it's back to the drawing board.

I will really have to come up with better titles, but I feel like this is the beginning of an epic journey and it's just starting. I learned to put links in my side bar this morning! Woo hoo… now I just need more!

This is a crazy week school-wise. It's the week from hell musical week. We do a 6th grade musical every year and it's a really big deal. Every student, all 47 of them, have a speaking part in one of two casts. The 6th grade teachers work back stage making sure that the sets look right and so forth. I have mixed feelings about the whole thing. I do think it's nice that all the kids have a chance to perform, but it sure takes a lot of time and energy. Yesterday and today are the matinees, evening performances on Thursday and Friday. On the up side, back stage work when the scenes are 30 minutes means a lot of knitting time!

On the knitting front, here are the Avery sleeves!

Avery Arms I missed the photo of Bunny modeling them, too slow getting the camera. The good news is they look the right length! They're knitted in Knitpicks Simple Stripes in Storm. The body of the sweater is in Kinitpicks Essential in Ash. Last night I knit a swatch from the stripe yarn to figure out where I wanted my squares for the intarsia on the front. I got it all figured out, measured, cut, and the butterflies made all while watching Brady Bunch, go figure! I will get the front started during the musical!

Yesterday was knitting class. Julia and I teach a class after school and we now have 36 of the 47 sixth graders enrolled. The beginners worked on their purling, the intermediates worked on their Sophie bags, and the advanced group worked on their vests and scarves. Actually there was a whole lot of working on "this other thing," but that's fine too. J showed them a power point she made about our trip to Maryland Sheep and Wool. It was really funny!

Oh and I signed up for The Amazing Lace this morning. Wanting to join that was the reason I started a blog! I'm planning Birch. I am going to use Knitpicks Shimmer in Morning Mist. It's for mom! I made a mini-birch so I kind of have the hang of it, but I'm still worried about starting! I went to Home Depot the other night and got O-rings to use as markers so now I am just facing the 299 cast on. I would love any hints and advice before I start…

2 Comments »

  1. Hey Beth! My only advice on Birch is … um…to knit Kiri instead? So much easier to do without markers. But of course it’s not exactly the same in the end. Good luck with it. It’s on my to do list, I even have the yarn around here somewhere. xox Kay

    Comment by Kay — May 10, 2006 @ 6:01 pm |Reply

  2. Hello Beth! Good to know that there are fellow Birch-knitters. I made Kiri last year for my mother-in-law and she loves it. This time I’m making Birch for myself. Advice? I think if you’ve made a mini-Birch, you already know what it would be like. About markers, my experience with them in Kiri is that they would just get in the way … not sure about Birch.

    Comment by Agnes — May 11, 2006 @ 11:17 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

